Author Topic: I need help on this 9th century coin  (Read 1865 times)

Offline regandon

• Expert Collector
  • Karma +4/-0
I need help on this 9th century coin
« on: August 07, 2009, 11:06:10 AM »
I've had this coin for many years. My great-grand-father gave it to me. It was given to him by his father who was born in England. I've been told it was minted at the time of Cnut in the 9th century. I'm mainly a collector of 16th to 18th century European coins, and I have no knowledge of 9th century coinage.
So, my question is,..is this coin from the 9th century during the time of Cnut. I'm still waiting to hear back from an expert on this time period that I've sent the coin to. But I know there are also very knowledgable people on this forum that may be able to help me out.

regandon
ANA member #R-3128774

Knights Templer
IN . HOC . SIGNO . VINGS

Offline Zantetsuken

• Top Collector
  • Karma +1/-0
Re: I need help on this 9th century coin
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 10:30:22 PM »
I've had this coin for many years. My great-grand-father gave it to me. It was given to him by his father who was born in England. I've been told it was minted at the time of Cnut in the 9th century. I'm mainly a collector of 16th to 18th century European coins, and I have no knowledge of 9th century coinage.
So, my question is,..is this coin from the 9th century during the time of Cnut. I'm still waiting to hear back from an expert on this time period that I've sent the coin to. But I know there are also very knowledgable people on this forum that may be able to help me out.