Camera and set ups

Back
  • Camera and set ups   by coinsarefun on 28 Jun, 2009 22:27
  • Share your secrets with us.
  • Reply #1   by regandon on 07 Aug, 2009 11:22
  • I'm not that good at coin photography, but I'm getting better. I use a Canon 5D full frame 12.8 mag. SLR. I use a Canon 24-105mm L lens and have orderd a Canon 180mm macro today. I use two 300 watt lights set up on each side of the coin. I use a tripod with a ball head mount, and point the camera down at the coin. After reading up on coin photography I've gotten a little better at it. I some times use two off camera Canon 580 flash units for lighting.
  • Reply #2   by DLt-Sandwich on 12 Sep, 2009 20:34
  • One word.....SCANNER
    It shows a lot of detail But NO luster,
  • Reply #3   by Zantetsuken on 23 Sep, 2009 23:04
  • I'm not great at coin photography, but I'm getting better as I practice. One thing I never use is a flash. It causes too much of a glare on the subject, and causes the image to look washed out. Instead, I use natural light. My desk lamp usually gives a yellowish light, whereas a fluorescent lamp gives off a bluish tint. As for scanners, I used to use my scanner for coins, but the images usually looked fuzzy and the toning looked horrible. I save the scanner for banknotes instead because it's easier get the correct results.
  • Reply #4   by regandon on 26 Sep, 2009 17:28
  • Nothing wrong with using off camera flash. Here are two coins, I used off camera flash with an Omni.
  • Reply #5   by Zantetsuken on 26 Sep, 2009 18:05
  • Nothing wrong with using off camera flash. Here are two coins, I used off camera flash with an Omni.

Very nice. I unfortunately don't have an off camera flash, so I use existing light. Thanks for sharing.
  • Reply #6   by Larry on 29 Oct, 2009 13:33
  • One word.....SCANNER
    It shows a lot of detail But NO luster,
    [/i][/b]

SCANNER IS A 7-LETTER WORD.    :LOL;

• Reply #7   by Larry on 29 Oct, 2009 14:57